Udall Dinner

12th Annual Stewart Udall Legacy DinnerUdall Drawing - Oliphant

Sunday, September 15, 2013 4:30 – 8:00 pm
National Park Service Building, 1100 Old Santa Fe Trail

$175 per person. RSVP by September 1, 2013
For reservations, Click the Donate button or call the office at 505-989-7019 or email info@sfct.org

The Stewart Udall Environmental Award is given to honor those values, that work, or that person or persons who inspire us to love the land, care for it, preserve its sweep and heal its wounds. In honoring Stewart, we seek to encourage every man and woman, every modest friend, to rise to the peaks, to never give up, nor ever lose touch with the black earth, the trails between towns, the web of community and the land.

N. Scott Momaday

2013 Honoree – N. Scott Momaday

A native of Oklahoma and a member of both the Kiowa and Cherokee tribes, N. Scott Momaday is a writer, teacher, lecturer and artist. His first novel House Made of Dawn led to the breakthrough of Native American literature into the American mainstream after the novel was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1969.  Momaday is considered the founding author in what has been coined the Native American Renaissance. He has been featured in numerous documentaries, including The West, for his masterful retelling of Kiowa history and legend. Momaday is also the founder of the Rainy Mountain Foundation and Buffalo Trust, a nonprofit organization working to preserve Native American cultures.

Acknowledging the important role that SFCT plays in preserving wildlife habitat, the evening’s festivities will also include a special presentation by the Wildlife Center of Española.

Also joining us at the dinner will be Dorothy Massey from Collected Works Bookstore, who will have a fresh and relevant selection of books available for purchase.

Udall Underwriting Support

Galisteo Basin Gold

Judith Bright Barnett

Sun Mountain Silver

Charmay Allred





Reynolds Insurance



Solis Management (Cody & Kelly Barnett)

Linda Saurage

Arroyo Hondo Bronze

Janie and George Bingham

David and Pam Fleischaker

The Lannan Foundation

Leatherwood Foundation




Alicia Smith

Stephen Velie

Special Friends

Connie and Bob Bright

David and Kathy Chase

Follingstad and Grassham CPA

Jana and Lee Reynolds

Carson and Marsha See

John Yoeckel

Tom and Candy Knudson


Charmay Allred

Carol Anthony

Coca-Cola Bottling Company

Peter Hagen

Kirt Kempter

Marble Brewery

Abigail Ryan


Special thanks to the Cowgirl Restaurant and the National Park Service


Stewart Udall Legacy Dinner Award Recipients

2012 – Janie Bingham & Rina Swentzell
2011 – Jack Loeffler
2010 – In Memory Stewart Udall, Founder
2009 – Santa Fe Community Foundation & William deBuys
2008 – Stewart & Lee Udall
2007 – Bill Cowles
2006 – Dale & Sylvia Ball
2005 – Sallie Wagner & Nancy Meem Wirth
2004 – Mark Michel
2003 – Jean Hocker
2002 – Stewart Udall